Stop the ‘wife material’ drama already

Most girls these days can’t hear themselves think above all the talk that is floating around about what it entails for a girl to be considered wife material. I’ve heard it so much that I’m considering committing a crime if someone mentions it to me again in the near future.

From an early age girls are taught mostly by their mothers how to run homes and take care of babies and husbands. This makes me wonder if someone is taking the time to teach young boys how to provide and take care of their wives and babies.

I mean, why do we have to do all the work? Someone should consider starting a #tag on what is used to measure if a man is a good husband material. For the longest time I’ve been ranted to about the right clothes to wear, the right time to wake up, the right way to make meals, the right way to keep the man happy, the way to hold babies and a million other things.

I’m getting a migraine just thinking about all the things I am expected by society to do. All the rules make marriage seem like too much work that I wouldn’t be bothered to do. But what to do?

Sometimes I wonder if every man’s definition of a perfect wife is the same. Then again, I figure that that eventuality would be too bad since the pressure is too high. Is it really so necessary for a girl to change who they are so that they can be perceived to be good wives.

If a girl prefers to be working instead of hanging fresh washing is she a bad choice for a wife? If a girl prefers to unwind after a long day or week by having a beer instead of hot chocolate does that make her unsuitable as a wife? I wonder, if a girl prefers to just curl up on the couch with a good book or movie instead of doing dishes, is it such a terrible a thing?

I have wondered for so long but I’ve never found anyone who could give me an honest, unbiased and satisfactory answer.

I believe the bigger crime would be to live all my life forcing myself to do things I don’t like. A wife’s role is not only made up of doing house chores and popping babies. There’s so much more to the mix and it is the high time that the society acknowledged that.

Leave a comment